℃-ute’s 28th Single “Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ / Arashi wo Okosunda Exciting Fight!” (MV’s)

Mugen no Yell_01REToday the last MV for ℃-ute’s 28th single has been finally uploaded onto their official YouTube channel. Since it kinda feels like I haven’t really done any MV reviews in a long time so I’m a little excited to share some of my thoughts about these new songs.

Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~

Song: I find Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ to be a bit of an uplifting ballad. The tempo of the song is more on the slow side, similar to some of ℃-ute’s previous singles “Kimi wa Jitensha Watashi wa Densha de Kitaku” and “Kono Machi.” Though I would have to say that Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ is about thanking the people who support you in life’s hardships.

I think it’s really nice to see ℃-ute do this type of song again since it’s been a while since they did a real nice ballad like this one. I’m not too certain on this song just yet but I do think it’s still pretty good, the parts I really like so far are the lyrics and harmonization. Like the usual ℃-ute singles, this song is mostly dominated by Airi, Chisato, and Maimi while there’s only a few sprinkles of lines from Mai and Saki. Nothing really new from them but I’m am pretty happy to see that Mai and Saki do most of the harmonization’s since I think they sound perfect for the feeling this song gives.

mugen2MV: Since this both songs for this single are cheer songs and anthems for Japan’s wresting team (according to Hello! Project Wikia), there are some clips of the athlete’s practicing and training mixed in with scenes of ℃-ute’s own practice, MV close-ups, and the really nice scenes where the girls are standing with the blue sky behind them and the wind blowing in their hair and dresses.

I think it’s pretty cool that ℃-ute has this opportunity to sing these cheer songs for some of Japan’s athletes, but I think I would have to say I would have liked to see more of the girls and kinda less of the athletes. I’m definitely more interested in seeing more practice scenes from the ℃-ute girls since I find Hello! Pro members practicing always interesting. That’s just my little thought bubble but I’m sure I’ll get over since after a while and once I get my copies of the single I’ll probably barely even watch the MV’s anymore.

mugen3Dance / Outfits: For the MV of this song we don’t have any dance scenes but we do got scenes of the girls looking like their practicing their dances and vocals, though I’m gonna assume that they do have some type of dance for this song since in most cases every Hello! Pro song has a dance.

As for the outfits they’re wearing to promoting this new song, they just seem to be just casual outfits with white tops and a light pastel blue skirt. Though the theme of the outfits seem to be the same with everyone, each girl has a different variation of it. The outfits make the girls look so angelic and natural with the blue sky right behind them.

mugen4Overall: Though I wasn’t too sure on how I really feel about this song, while writing this review I have the MV going on in another tab and I can already feel this song growing on me. I’m sure it wouldn’t be too long before I come to say that I really love this song. Right now I think I would have to give this song a 8 / 10.

Arashi wo Okosunda Exciting Fight!

Song: Instead of another ballad like the other song in this release, Arashi wo Okosunda Exciting Fight! is more of a rock-ish and strong song, and it actually reminds me of some songs that Buono! has done in the past. It has a bit of slow start until the music really kicks up. Though it’s like the polar opposite of Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ in tempo, but I do find the lyrics to have the same affect as they both have lyrics that involve not giving up and to keep going. It’s like Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ is thanking the people for support and Arashi wo Okosunda Exciting Fight is to be what comes after all that cheering and support, it’s all your might that you show to do your very best.

I also want to mention that this type of song is great to see ℃-ute do since I find that they don’t really do a whole lot of rock-ish singles, they might do some with b-sides and album songs but to be honest with you I haven’t really heard a whole lot of them so I can only say singles. Though I’m really liking this song, I just have one little complaint. I’m not too sure what the lyric writers are doing but it seems like at least one song from each groups’ singles involve a song with dialog lines. I mean the writers are writing some really great song lyrics and the arrangements are really good too, but I’m just wondering if all the songs actually need dialog lines, I’m sure some songs can be just as great without them.

mugen5MV: Like the other MV, this one has scenes from the Japanese wresting team as well. Their actions are a little more active and I guess the scenes do really match the tempo of the song quite well but I kinda find that they don’t really fit the other scenes of the ℃-ute girls so much. The girls look to be in some kind of garage for helicopters and there’s even some all around in the backgrounds of the close-ups and dance shots. I like the shots of the girls a lot more in this MV and I feel like the wresting scenes just got in the way. I didn’t really mind them so much in the Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ but I don’t really like them a whole lot in this MV.

I did think the scenes where the girls have colored fire in their hands were pretty cool and seemed like powerful statements. I wish they did a bit more with those scenes since they appeared near the end without anything further. I feel like I’m complaining a lot about this MV, but please don’t get the wrong idea, I really like the song and for once I actually feel a little disappointed in the MV which never really happens with me. I think the girls just looked so stunning in this MV and I just wanted to see more of them.

mugen6Dance / Outfits: For this song there’s actually some dance scenes included in the MV and from what I can see I think it’s a pretty alright dance. I don’t think it’s a type of dance I would attempt to learn and there’s some scenes where I think the movements seem a little too all over the place and messy for my taste but there are a couple of moves that I do like quite a bit and the dance works for the ℃-ute girls I guess.

The outfits are actually pretty nice, the girls seem to be wearing different variations of white outfits. I think most of the girls got shorts while Maimi got pants and Airi a skirt. I’m not one to really notice the shoes but the heels for these outfits are just too pretty not to notice. I think all in all I really like these outfits for everybody, all the girls look so stunning and there isn’t an outfit that I don’t really like. Way to go MV coordinators and stylists!

mugen7Overall: Overall I feel like all I’m doing is kinda complaining about the shots and scenes of the MV, but I do find myself actually really liking the song itself. I don’t really know what’s really up with that but like I said before I guess I’m just a little disappointed with the MV. The song is just so solid and strong, I wanted to see the girls act more with that just not so much with wrestlers. Anyway right now I’m thinking I would give this song a 8.2 / 10. I’m really liking both songs so far, and for me this song just ranks a little higher than Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ at the moment.

Mugen no Yell_02REThose are some of my thoughts about this two new songs from ℃-ute, I’m hoping this song does great with sales and Oricon ranks. Though I’m not really too happy with what they did with the music videos, I am glad that ℃-ute has this opportunity to sing songs to support Japan’s wresting teams. I’ve ordered this single along with a few older ℃-ute releases already and I’m very excited to see what kind of trading cards I would get~

It’s release date it October 28th.
If you liked any of these songs from ℃-ute, please be sure to buy / order your copies of the single to help and support ℃-ute with their newest double-a side single “Arigatou ~Mugen no Yell~ / Arashi wo Okosunda Exciting Fight!

———

Also, congrats to ℃-ute for the recent announcement for their 9th album which will be released on December 23rd I believe! I’m excited to hear some new and original songs from them (*^^*)!

Just one last reminded before I end this post, there’s still this petition to try and get ℃-ute to come to Canada! If you haven’t yet, be sure to sign and share this petition to spread the word!

{ ute for Canada Petition }

tumblr_nwcsgrSB7c1qa6eh5o1_500Now playing: Ai no Imi wo Oshiete! – W

Leave a Reply

