Morning Musume ’15’s 59th Single “Oh my wish! / Sukatto My Heart / Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki” (MV’s)

2aEPCE7135_TP1A_O_prep.pdfYesterday, the last MV for Morning Musume ’15’s 59th single has been finally uploaded onto their official YouTube channel. I didn’t really feel like blogging yesterday when it came out but today I’ll share with you guys my thoughts about these new songs and music videos from Morning Musume ’15!

Oh my wish!

Song: I feel like the song is right up my ally since it’s a type of song that I really like the best, plus during the beginning and end has a sound that’s similar to Ai no Gundan’s which I find interesting but really quite nice to hear since I really love Ai no Gundan and there hasn’t really been a song like that since then. There’s one thing that I just have to mention and I’m pretty sure other fans are aware of this too, but Zukki and Duu has finally taken front and center for this single. It took them about four years to do so, always being back members with no much lines at all they have finally gotten the spotlight they really deserve and I couldn’t be any happier for them!

Not only do Zukki and Duu get really great lines but Haruna also gets a few as well while the other solo lines are from Maachan and Sakura. I’m so happy to see the girls who are usually in the back to finally be in the front! Though I must admit that it’s a little odd not to hear Riho at all since she’s on the dance team but a change of pace isn’t that bad, plus she’s still featured in the other songs so it’s not like she isn’t featured at all in these new singles.

There’s also dialog lines from Akane and Oharu in this song. At first I was thinking that they were kinda odd to be placed in a song like this and that not all songs don’t need dialog lines which Hello! Project has been doing quite a bit of lately. It wasn’t annoyance that I felt but it was just like “c’mon now, did we really dialog lines for this song?” Though after listening to this song quite a bit over the past few days, I don’t mind them as much anymore and I actually I do really like Oharu’s lines now.

ohmywish4MV: The music video for Oh my wish! is also pretty nice and actually has some pretty lovely scenes. Of course we have the usual dance-shot and close-up shots, but in this video we also have scenes of just the dance team, then solo shots of the dance members, we also have various scenes with the singing team near the railing from the seats and we also have the them all sitting down together, and there’s also scenes with just Zukki and Duu on the stage where the dance team’s dance was recorded too. The camera tends to move a lot during some scenes but it makes the video look more cool and chic, I don’t think it’s not a movement where it might hurt your head or eyes.

I really like how there’s lots of variety of scenes in this video and I really love how they all look really pretty since the scenery is so nice! It really gives off a vintage but elegant vibe to the video and to the girls. The music almost has 600k views already and it’s only been 2 weeks since it was uploaded, make sure to keep watching the music video so we can try to get it to 1 million in a short period of time to show that we truly love Zukki and Duu in the center!

ohmywish3Dance / Outfits: The dance for the dance team seems pretty complicated and nonstop for them while the singing team seems to have a few easier moves though some moves are same for both dances which is nice to see both teams in sync with each other. There’s a few moves that I really like, to shine like a diamond move which is pictured above is one of them that I really like. There’s also a part near the dance break I think where the girls line in two different lines and flail their arms in one direction. I don’t think I explain it that well but hopefully you guys can get what I mean. It’s a little surprising to see Ikuta on the dance team since she hasn’t always been the best dancer in the group but she seems to do just as well as Ayumi, Mizuki, and Riho for this song which is really nice to see. I also want to mention how full force Ayumi’s dancing was! I really think that she just might be the best dancer in the group. I do love Riho’s dancing but Ayumi’s dancing always seems to be more sharp and more on point and I really like seeing that from her.

As for the outfits, I think they’re all really nice and I really like them. I really like how the sliver dresses from the dance team are real sparkly, it can’t really be seen that well in the music video that well but when the girls were talking about the dance during an episode of GREEN ROOM I think, you can really see the shine and sparkles of the dresses. While the singing team got plan white dresses with some fringes I believe. Though I really like the sparkly sliver dresses, I think the simple but just as nice white dresses are my favorite.

ohmywish2Overall: Overall I’m really loving Oh my wish! and I think I’ve been watching the music video at least once a day since I just really love it so much already, but since I’ve been listening to it so much these days I just hope I don’t get sick of it at some point from over-listening to it. Right now I think I would give this song a 8.9 / 10, and according to my other ranks from earlier this year, Oh my wish! is currently tied with the same mark I gave for ANGERME’s “Otome no Gyakushuu.”

Sukatto My Heart

Song: Sukatto My Heart is more of a disco themed song which has a bit of a similar feel to it that The Mantenrou Show gives off. Though I’m not really too fond of The Mantenrou Show, I’m really loving Sukatto My Heart. Even though Zukki and Duu were centers in Oh my wish! it seems like Riho is back in center for this song. Mizuki, Sakura, and Maachan also seem to be the main singers as well. Most of the song seems to be full of group lines though, only those four that I mentioned gets the solo lines. I’m not really complaining though, it’s a very typical Morning Musume song written by Tsunku-san. It’s unique and in the end very catchy which is usually the magic work that Tsunku-san does, and it’s very nice to see him writing some songs again.

Though I do find this is song is a little repetitive I can’t help but to still really like it, and after a few listens of it the song will casually get stuck in my head. I’ve been catching on to the lyrics these days and I want to sing along too, but they sing so fast in the chorus that it’s hard for me to keep up with their pace so hopefully I can once I listen to this song more.

ohmywish6MV: The music video for Sukatto My Heart seems to be on some time of dance floor which has a huge disco ball behind them in the close-ups, and is also visual in the dance-shots too. Wait, what if it’s not a dance floor though, what if it’s actually like a indoor skating place which would totally match the theme of the song a whole lot better! I can’t really tell on which place it really is but both places work really well as the location for this song to take place music video wise.

I kinda find that this music video really jumps from scene to scene at a real fast pace, like there’s just a lot of cuts and scenes, if you blink you might miss someone’s cute face or a really cool dance move before a whole different scene will come up. I guess that would be my only real complaint, though I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way when it comes to it. There is some really great scenes though and I’m sure maybe that’s what the director thought too so they didn’t want to leave anything out.

ohmywish7Dance / Outfits: There’s really not much dance scenes where you can see a lot of the dance moves, but from what I can see in the video the dance seems to also a nice disco theme to it too. It seems though that we only see pretty much the same moves shown in this music video. There is a couple of really cool moves though! Ikuta’s hand flips are definitely extremely cool for them incorporate into the dance since been she’s pretty talented at aerobics ever since her early debut days though they’ve only been showing her amazing hand flips as of lately. It really makes her stick out! I also really like how they spell out “No” at a couple parts of the dance which is pictured below. I didn’t even really notice the formation until someone on Tumblr pointed it out! I guess Morning Musume is still really about the formation dance. The dance break which only three girls from the dance of Oh my wish! is also pretty cool, they’re like actually kinda break dancing which I don’t think I ever seen happen in Hello! Project before.

As for the outfits, they’re sailor themed outfits with blue skirts and blue accents on their tops. Out of 13 girls, only 4 got like matching marine hats which I kinda thought it was odd at first, like why only 4? I don’t know man, but I guess it works for the girls who has them which is Haruna, Maachan, Zukki, and Akane. I guess the dance team members couldn’t have hats since they’ll be moving around too much, and Ikuta couldn’t have cause of her hand flips and they might fall off during all those movements. I would think Miki and Maria would have looked good in marine hats too though. Whatever man, I guess the coordinators only gave four girls marine hats.

ohmywish5Overall: Overall I really do like this song, I don’t think I haven’t been listening to it as much as Oh my wish! but I have been listening to it a lot lately too. I’m actually pretty glad to see Morning Musume ’15 get more of a disco theme of a song since most of their songs seem to be in the EDM style of things. Though the EDM style they have been doing I have been really liking, it’s just nice to see a change in song styles every once in a while. I think I would give this song a 8.5 / 10, which ties with the same mark I gave Country Girls for “Koi Dorobou” too. Though I think Koi Dorobou really went down for me over these past few months, I don’t even know why I gave it such a high mark.

Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki

Song: Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki is actually a song that has Miki and Maachan as center. It’s finally nice to see Maachan to be center of a single since even though she’s featured and has quite a bit of lines in other singles, I don’t think she was a center in any of them. It’s also a little surprising to see Miki be a center of a single already since this single is actually the 12th gen’s 2nd, and I kinda expected Maria to be a center of a single before any other 12th gen member. I guess I was wrong though, but that’s okay, Miki seems to being doing a real great job with her position in this song.

Though Miki and Maachan are the centers, a lot of the other members get chances to shine in this song too. We even got a solo line from Ikuta right near the beginning, and little solo lines from Maria and Haruna near the middle. While Sakura, Mizuki, Riho, and Maachan get more of the lines and also more of the deeper powerhouse lines (I guess that’s how I would describe them). It’s still pretty good song that’s divide evenly for all members. I mean some members didn’t really get much lines but they were more featured in Oh my wish! so I guess it’s only fair to evenly split the new songs.

To be honest though, Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki doesn’t really stick out to me as much as the songs. I think it’s a fairly good song and I really love and appreciate the message of the lyrics, I’m just not too sure how I feel about it quite yet. I don’t dislike it but it’s maybe my least favorite out of these three new songs.

ohmywish10MV: The music video isn’t has flashy has the other two, but it does have a really nice and simple set that has a real nice sunset effect to it. There’s also peach coloured boxes in the background of the dance-shots, and the members actually sit or stand on them in the group close-ups. I must admit that this music video has a really nice and relaxing atmosphere to it which to it’s advance really makes the song a whole better I find. There’s also scenes of the girls in this type of fog, I guess in a sense of them trying to find their own way. The girls look so natural and extremely beautiful in this video. I do really love the close-up’s of the girls. There’s one thing that I don’t really get in this video and it’s when the girls are posing in the boxes. When my friend sent me screenshots of them before I seen the video, and I asked her “What kind of poses are those?” I just thought they were just kinda oddly placed and oddly posed.

ohmywish9Dance / Outfits: From what I can see of the dance in this video, it doesn’t seem too complicated this time around since the other two songs look like they have very tiring dances. The dance team also takes over the dance break in this song as well. Just a lot of swaying of the arms and spinning rather difficult jumps and break dancing. I really like the movements where they bend down with their arms gently spreading out kinda like a bird and spreading its wings which is really well placed since they do talk about being like a waterfowl in the song.

Though the music video and even the song aren’t that flashy, the outfits seem to be. They all seem to be wearing different variations of a red rose coloured two-piece outfit with thigh high black boots. Since the set of the video has more of a relaxed and warm color to it, the red outfits really make the girls pop out just right. I like the outfits quite a bit actually, I think they’re quite nice.

ohmywish8Overall: Overall I think I’m gonna have to give Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki a few more listens, but like I said before it’s my least favorite song out of the new three. Right now I think I’ll give it a 8.2 / 10. I mean it’s a real nice song and it’s really nice to see Morning Musume get beautiful ballad-like songs like these, and I do actually like it, it’s just that I don’t find this song to really stick out to me. It’s another song that has a tied mark and it’s tied with Juice=Juice’s “Wonderful World.”

1cEPCE7137_TP1A_O_prep.pdfThe marks I gave to all three songs seem to tie up with another I gave earlier this year according to this blog of mine, but I guess we shall see how they really do when it comes to the end of the year where I rank them all. Actually there’s a few songs that I marked kinda low but really love and there’s a few that I marked high but don’t really like so much now. So who really knows who I feel about these songs once some time as passed. I have already pre-ordered my copies and I got regular A and regular B which will come with trading cards for Oh my wish and Sukatto My Heart. At first I was thinking maybe I should have bought regular C so I can get an Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki trading card too, but I think I’ll be just fine without one even though I really love the outfits.

Anyway! I hope you enjoy my little of Morning Musume ’15’s newest single “Oh my wish! / Sukatto My Heart / Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki” (though this review is actually pretty long this time around). Please feel free to tell me what you guys think about these new songs!

It’s release date is August 19th!
Be sure to buy / pre-order your copies of the single to help support Morning Musume ’15 with their 59th and newest triple-a side single “Oh my wish! / Sukatto My Heart / Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki

Leave a Reply

