Top 33 Hello! Project Singles of 2014.

Hello_Project-436853Hello everybody! It’s that time of year again and to be honest one of my most favorite times of the year, it’s the time where I talk about my favorite Hello! Project singles of the year! I also talk about my top ten girls of the year but that’s in another post which I hope you guys also check out, but my hopes and predictions for the new year is on the bottom of this post.

Now I would like to say a few things before I start my list. First I didn’t count Hello Pro Kenshuusei’s “Oheso no Kuni Kara Konnichiwa” in this year’s ranking since I counted it in last years ranking by mistake since I thought it was released at the end of last year. So with that there would have been a total of 34 singles this year but now there’s only 33 on my list. I would also like to say that many groups got some really awesome songs during the year so I had some trouble choosing which songs I really liked the best but now I think I got my list down right. This is all my opinions and thoughts of the songs throughout and during the year. I would like to apologize if I sound a bit repetitive but I’ll try my best not to sound like I’m repeating myself all the time. Anyway guys, please enjoy my thoughts on Hello! Project’s 2014 singles.

#33 – Mikaeri Bijin (Morning Musume ’14)

e3b9c071ad6e1cf8cc2f917c05b0ca6be23b0d05This might be a bit surprising for some of you since a lot of people seem to really love Mikaeri Bijin, but the thing that puts this song at the bottom of my list is that the pace of the song is too slow for me and I sometimes feel like this song is a little on the boring side of things, I also feel like this song just drags on and on without much of a punch to it. I will say that it’s a really great tribute to Sayumi and her gradation, but the only thing that I really like about this song is the outfits and the shots and set of the MV, besides that like I said before I just find the song to be too slow and boring for me and my taste in music. I will admit that you will catch me listening and singing along to this song, but it’s just not my cup of tea.

#32 – Eighteen Emotion (S/mileage)

Mnee-rbI love S/mileage dearly and it’s kinda sad for me to put one of their releases near bottom of my list, but I just find that Eighteen Emotion isn’t really all that great. It sounds like a sweet song and I kinda liked it when it first came out but later throughout the year I just found it to be a bit repetitive with all the Eighteen’s that are being said all the time, and I find the heavy guitar sound in the instrumental break to be really off putting and I don’t really think it matches the flow of the lyrics all that well. It’s just really out of place. I’m also not a huge fan of the coordinates for the girls. There’s not really a color scheme and they don’t really match each other. I find pretty much everything about this song to be a bit of a big mess. I wish I could kinda like it more since it’s a S/mileage song but I just don’t, and I thought it was like my least favorite S/mileage song out there but it’s actually growing on me lately.

#31 – Aa, Subarashiki Hibi yo (Sato to Akari)

post-148036-0-40059200-1394707963I find Aa, Subarashiki Hibi yo to be a really calming song with a nice melody. I really love how Rina’s and Akari’s vocals really shine in this song since they both have calm and quiet vocals, and their vocals really match the feeling of this song perfectly. What I’m not a big fan of with in this song is Masaki’s vocals. Usually I really love Masaki’s vocals but since her vocals really sticks out and are already louder than the other two girls it feels like I’m just hearing Masaki rather than the other girls, plus I don’t really think her vocals matches the song as perfectly as the other two. Even though I do really like the sweetness and calming feeling this song gives, I just feel like there’s other songs that are a bit better than this one, but I do really love broken English at the end of this song, and I’m calling it broken because it doesn’t really make much sense if you just read it but I just really love how it’s sung in this song and in a way it kinda makes sense.

#30 – What is LOVE? (Morning Musume ’14)

EgaonokimiREAIt’s been about a year now since What is LOVE was first introduced on J-MELO, and even since then I was never the biggest fan of the this song. I didn’t really like how the song flowed together, to me it just seem a bit mushed together and lacking in quality. My only favorite parts of What is LOVE is “What do you want? Is it necessary?” as for the rest of the lyrics and beat I still don’t really like it. Eventually this song did grow on me as the year went by but it’s still one of my least favorite from Morning Musume ’14 this year.

#29 – Dream Last Train (Triplet)

post-148036-0-40059200-1394707963In the beginning it seemed like Dream Last Train was probably my least favourite Satoyama Movement single this year but as the year went by I found myself listening to this song a lot more than the others and I’ve come to really love this song now. It has more of a rock tone to it that the other two Satoyama movement songs lack. What I love most about this song is Haruka’s husky vocals. It really stands out and it’s great to hear her vocals since it’s not really used much in Morning Musume. Chisato’s, Sayuki’s and Haruka’s vocals actually sound really great together despite their vocal differences.

#28 – Kodachi wo Nukeru Kaze no Yo ni (ODATOMO)

post-148036-0-40059200-1394707963I’m not usually the biggest fan of Sakura or Tomoko but they both have really great and smooth vocals, and bringing them together was an extremely great idea from whoever was in charge of picking members for the Satoyama Movement sub-groups. Not only does their vocals blend beautifully together but the song itself is a pretty nice and ballad-like song which really brings the best out of their vocals. It’s a gentle song and I think it’s a type of song you would probably hear from an anime ending. Even though I’m not the biggest fan of both girls I can’t really help but to love their song.

#27 – Arekore Shitai! (Juice=Juice)

5467654ufArekore Shitai doesn’t have much a fast pace to it and it’s a pretty calm song compared to some other Juice=Juice singles that were released this year, but this is the song I listen to most whenever I go for walks around my little town. Even though I don’t walk much now since it gotten a bit too cold for daily walks but I find Arekore Shitai to be a perfect song to just look and enjoy the scenery around you and to just reminisce about things. It’s not a super fast pace EDM song like recent Hello! Project songs that I tend to really love but I find Arekore Shitai is a perfect song to just sit down (or walk) and just relax.

#26 – Senobi (Juice=Juice)

9ca422f7ea567b630c8ce7951d8bd39646cf4d6eI find Senobi to have a bit of a futuristic feel and sound to it. It sounds like it’s from out of this world and that it’s more complicated than it looks. Even though it has some pretty simple lyrics that’s basically one word then a bunch of wow wow wow’s, I feel like there’s another story hidden in the lyrics. I think it’s a fairly good song in it’s own way, but I think Juice=Juice had better singles than this one and I feel like Senobi was a bit rushed. Even though I can’t relate and don’t really get the lyrics I think it’s still a pretty alright song.

#25 – Password is 0 (Morning Musume ’14)

tumblr_n2rgug6j5h1rmto6wo2_500What I really like about Password is 0 is that it has a very awesome and fast-pace instrumental, and the lyrics flow pretty well together. I must say that Riho’s “What comes around goes around” line is definitely an amusing one and is probably my most favorite line in the entire song. It doesn’t even sound like she’s saying “What comes around goes around” and I just find it to be a bit funny to listen to, I couldn’t even believe that’s what she sung when I first heard the song it just sound like gibberish to me. The rest of the song is pretty alright I must say, nothing else really sticks out to me though. It kinda bothers me how “Zero Zero Zero Password is 0” is sung everywhere in the song and I also don’t really like all the jumping for that part in the song but I think the rest of the dance is pretty impressive.

#24 – Kanashiki Heaven (single version) (C-ute)

d5c1986f9cf20e3810d8ac5682f47fa3df762552When I first heard that they were doing a single version of Kanashiki Heaven I wasn’t very happy. I didn’t really like the original song so to hear that they were doing a single version of a song that I didn’t even really like it was a bit disappointing. As a huge fan of Hello! Project I gave this new Kanashiki Heaven a chance when it was released as a single and it actually wasn’t all that bad. The new arrangements sound a bit better than in the original and they added some Spanish flare with the guitar which is a really nice touch to the song. Of course the song is still Airi and Chisato dominated but the three other girls still shinned in the music video. I can say now that I like Kanashiki Heaven a lot more than I use to and I guess that’s a good thing.

#23 – Towa no Uta (Berryz Koubou)

Bryz_SgTA-愛はいつも_CDh14I find Towa no Uta to sound like a very typical Berryz Koubou song, a song that seems fun-filled but not all that serious. It’s another song that I find to be perfectly written just for Berryz Koubou, expect in Towa no Uta it mainly talks about looking forward to their future with the small pride they got from their past. I think it’s great song for being one of Berryz Koubou’s last, it mentions their adventures as idols and they wear plaid which I think is a great tribute to themselves as a group since the only time they wore plaid outfits was for their first single. I don’t really listen to this song a whole lot but I still enjoy it whenever I do listen to it.

#22 – Egao wo Kimi wa Taiyou sa (Morning Musume ’14)

EgaonokimiLECHearing this song start for the first time I was really feeling it, the first 30 seconds of the song sounded really great with the electric we will rock you sound, but when they started to sing and I was not liking it anymore. To me it just seemed like they were speed talking, I didn’t really find them to sound like they were actually singing after that. I really loved the instrumental and I really loved the music video for Egao wo Kimi wa Taiyou sa, so eventually after binge listening to this song I actually started to get over my dislike for it and started to kinda like it. It’s a pretty positive, natural and ballad-like song with an EDM twist to it. It’s actually not that bad and I enjoy it a lot more these days, my only complaint I have now is that it’s a bit boring when it’s performed live.

#21 – Black Butterfly (Juice=Juice)

HKCN-50375Black Butterfly is one of the better songs this year, it has a calm tango sound to it which is really fresh to hear from all the EDM that Hello! Project has been doing these days and it’s pleasant to listen to since I find it to a bit relaxing. It’s not a song that’s too complicated or too simple, it has all the right sounds in all the right places. Black Butterfly is a bit low on my list but it’s still a song that I really enjoy listening to these days. The Black Butterfly being repeated so many times isn’t all that great but I really like how soothing this song is.

#20 – TIKI BUN (Morning Musume ’14)

45f92f02c54b662213fca6e97a00b1c1987a1277Generally I find TIKI BUN to be a little on the plain side of things, I don’t really find there’s much of a punch to it and for it being a graduation single I find it kinda slacked to put the spotlight on Sayumi. Even though other songs were sung at the Best Buy Theater in New York City, I tend to tie TIKI BUN to the trip since it was the single that they were promoting at the time. Listening to this song does bring back fond memories of my trip and seeing these girls live in person, so I kind of liked this song a lot more since the trip. The “TIKI BUN” lines are definitely catchy, the dance looks fun and easy to do, and I just love the dance break when Ayumi leans back. It’s a move which I can’t do when I try and always ask “how can she do that?” I think TIKI BUN is a plain song but I can’t help but to really like.

#19 – Date Janai yo Uchi no Jinsei wa (Juice=Juice)

8c054a2018ed23684234e2a43bdf654dcfb54f53If there’s some regular readers of my blog, you might have known that I wasn’t to fond of Date Janai yo Uchi no Jinsei wa when it was first released. I was thinking that Juice=Juice does too much of this type of song and I was actually thinking that this was my least favorite song of the year. When I did get my copies in the mail though and ripped the songs onto my iTunes, for some reason I tended to listen to this song way more than Senobi. Maybe I just needed some time to think more about on how I feel about this song because I really love it nowadays. I really like the cool feeling of the instrumental and how fun this song is to sing-a-long to, plus Sayuki’s high notes are extremely good in this song. I wish I gave this song more of a chance when it was released but I really love it now and at least now it’s in my top 20 so I guess it’s all good.

#18 – Futsuu, Idol 10nen Yatteran nai Deshou!? (Berryz Koubou)

Bryz_SgTB-愛はいつも_CDh14Futsuu, Idol 10nen Yatteran nai Deshou has always been one of my favorites this year. It’s a bit of a cutesy song which talks about Berryz Koubou’s own experiences as to being idols for 10 years. Hearing Berryz Koubou being idols for 10 years is bit amazing itself but when you hear the girls singing about it, for me it sets in more deeper more than usual. I find this song to be one of the most personal and from the heart songs that I’ve ever heard, Futsuu Idol 10nen Yatteran nai Deshou is perfectly written just for Berryz Koubou. It’s a bit of a fun song that looks back on their idol lives in a positive way since they love what they do but I can’t help to feel a little sad when I watch the MV and read the lyrics.

#17 – Mystery Night! (S/mileage)

Mnee-raMystery Night is definitely one of the most mature and sexiest song that S/mileage has ever done before. Being a fan of S/mileage from pretty much the beginning it was a bit shocking to see them to do such a song like this, wondering about choosing only one guy tonight while wearing such revealing and suggestive outfits. I’m not saying its a bad thing or that’s it’s a bad song though, seeing S/mileage doing a theme like this is definitely new and extremely refreshing. I do really love the intro and instrumental of this song, and the lyrics aren’t that bad even though I don’t like really Kanon’s high note for one of the Mystery Night’s. I actually really like the location of the MV, along with the outfits too. It was an extremely new theme for S/mileage and I think that they did really well with it, and I kinda doubt that they would do another sexy song like this anytime soon, but I think this one was really good.

#16 – Otona na no yo! (Berryz Koubou)

Otona1okuREAI find Otona na no yo to be a bit of a mature song for Berryz Koubou, and I find the message of the song to be more like “It’s my life, I want to do things my own way at my own pace without having someone telling me what to do or think. I want to have my own experiences. I’m an adult.” I tend to really admire songs that more about doing what you what in life, love songs are great but I tend to like life songs a bit more. I’ve always really loved Otona na no yo since it was released at the beginning of the year, I don’t think the outfits and the MV are very good or really that nice, but I really love and enjoy the song itself and the lyrics a lot.

#15 – Kaze ni Fukarate (Juice=Juice)

HKCN-50376With Kaze ni Fukarete when I first heard this song I was really liking the intro with the first verses from Karin and Sayuki then when the bagpipes started I was totally surprised by it. I didn’t expect to hear it but I was extremely happy to hear it since it reminds me of the local Celtic music from my hometown. I think I would still like this song without the bagpipes since it’s still a pretty good song with a nice laid-back melody with some great vocals from the girls but because it does contain bagpipes within it I can’t help but to love it a lot more since I feel more of a connection to it.

#14 – Chikyuu wa Kyou mo Ai wo Hagukumu (S/mileage)

tumblr_n99iwev7H01txona8o5_500When I first heard Chikyuu wa Kyou mo Ai wo Hagukumu I wasn’t really sure on what I thought or felt about the song, I initially thought it was pretty alright but I wasn’t too sure on how much I would like it as the year went by since when it was first released the song didn’t really stick out to me. It wasn’t until I heard the instrumental of this song that I started to really like it and listen it more frequently. I think the instrumental is extremely good and it’s probably one of favorites these days, and it really helped me to appreciate this song a lot more than I did at first. I must that the lyrics of this song are pretty good as well, my most favorite part of the lyrics though is the high-noted “fu” in futari. I’m not really that fond of the red outfits but all in all this song is pretty great and I really love the cool effects in the MV.

#13 – Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai (Morning Musume ’14)

EgaonokimiREBI find Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai to a really energetic song, it was chosen to be used for the Olympics which I think it’s quite suited for since it kinda captures the spirit of Japan. With all the extremely catchy theory’s, irony’s, headbanging dance moves, and a bunch of nippon’s I really can’t help myself but to really love this song since it just really pumps me up whenever I listen to it. At first I wasn’t too keen on the outfits but now I find them to look extremely comfortable and I would love to wear one of them. I wish this song was played more at concerts and lives though since it was only performed four times this year, I think it’s really good song and it’s pretty much the only one I’m not tired of hearing all the time.

#12 – Kokoro no Sakebi wo Uta ni Shite Mita (C-ute)

EPCE-7032I think Kokoro no Sakebi wo Uta ni Shite Mita is a very cute and sweet love song which we don’t usually get with C-ute since they usually get the sexier songs within Hello! Project, but it’s definitely nice to hear something different and even though this song has more of a softer tone I think it’s very lovely song that’s perfect for C-ute. I find it to be a perfect song for Spring and it just makes me want to take a stroll in town to admire everything around. I also really love the girls’ adorable but very casual outfits, and the MV for this song is very appealing too.

#11 – Love take it all (C-ute)

EPCE-7033Even though in general Love take it all is a fairly amazing song with some really great vocals from the girls, my most favorite part of the song is the instrumental. The melody for it is absolutely wonderful and it makes me want to listen to this song over and over again. Love take it all is very cool sounding and sexy song for C-ute which isn’t too surprising since they tend to do really well with these types of songs. I also really like how detailed and on-point the the dance is and it’s definitely one of my favorite dances of the year.

#10 – Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni (Berryz Koubou)

Bryz_SgTA-愛はいつも_CDh14Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni is a pretty strong sounding and powerful song for Berryz Koubou. It has a military tone to it with it being sung pretty straight-forward but I really like how the instrumental has a classical feel, it probably sounds like a strange mix but it worked out really well for them. I’ve always thought this song was really amazing from when it was first released and it’s always been one of my favorites. I don’t think the MV portrayed the powerfulness of the song as much as it could but I thought the overcasting shadow effect was really cool to watch.

#9 – Hadaka no Hadaka no Hadaka no KISS (Juice=Juice)

3675467ufHadaka no Hadaka no Hadaka no KISS is an incredible Flamenco inspired song that captures the natural beauty of the appearances and the vocals of the girls. I think they all sound really good and dynamic in this song however it is Tomoko who completely wins me over, I think her vocals match perfectly with the tone of this song and I just wish that it was just her in the music video while singing the whole song, she’s just incredibly stunning in this single. The lyrics of this song are a bit on the suggestive side of things. I just can’t help but to really like the feeling and mood that this song holds.

#8 – Aa Susukino (S/mileage)

tumblr_n99iwev7H01txona8o3_500I really like how Aa Susukino has an Ii Yatsu feel to it since Ii Yatsu is one of my most favorite S/mileage songs out there. Aa Susukino has a nice melody with some great vocals and dialog from the members. This song is definitely different from usual S/mileage songs which tend to be more energetic since this one is more about a sad break-up than anything else, but even with that and the style change I think Aa Susukino is still a really great S/mileage song.

#7 – 1 Oku 3 Senman Sou Diet Oukouku (Berryz Koubou)

Otona1okuREBI really like how 1 Oku 3 Senman Sou Diet Oukoku has a futuristic robotic feel to it from both the lyrics and the instrumental. Before I thought the lyrics of the song were pretty jumbled together and I didn’t really get the meaning of them, these days I understand the song a lot more and even though I really liked it when it was first released now I think it’s probably one of my most favorite Berryz Koubou songs out there. Many people like this song for the meaning of the lyrics, but I tend to like this song more from the sound and the way it’s presented during lives. I think it’s a pretty catchy song that’s pretty easy and a little tricky to sing along to but in the end I think it’s a pretty fun song and Risako’s powerhouse vocals in this song are just too amazing to ignore and to not mention.

#6 – THE FUTURE (C-ute)

1dEPCE7083_TP1A.pdfI liked THE FUTURE before when it was first released but it really grew on me more and more these days and now it even ended up in the top 10 songs of the year. I really like how this song has rock tone to it with a touch of EDM mixed in, and it reminds me of a couple other C-ute songs that I really love that have a similar feel and sound. I pretty much like almost everything about this song from the lyrics, instrumental, outfits, dance, and MV. Everything about THE FUTURE is really on-point and I think everything goes really well together.

#5 – The Power (C-ute)

1a5a69afb007a8eb121fb458190bfe0b219bbd44The Power has an amazing Indian Oasis sound and feel to it which I fell in love with only listening to the first few seconds of the song when I first heard the concert rip. I also come to really love the lyrics as well since they seem a bit passive-aggressive saying that she believes in this boy but he will not see a tomorrow if he crosses her, the lyrics are on a bit on the wow side of things but they amuse me nevertheless and I can’t help but to still really like this song. It’s a strong song from C-ute and it’s a perfect one for the Summer time, for a while this song was pretty close to being my favorite song of the year I really think it’s that great.

#4 – I miss you (C-ute)

ffe13d7ed463c9f23d4f464ba5b4df28f1ceb75aI miss you was another song from C-ute that I really loved from the first listen, this song has a cool, chic, and mature feel to it which C-ute delivers really well. Everybody sings something different and even though the lyrics look like a bit of a mess in the MV, everything surprising flows really well together. In my daily life, I tend to sing this song a lot especially Airi’s solo lines just a little after the 2 minute mark of the song along with all the I miss you’s that are sung after her lines. I find I miss you to be a really good and catchy song since I’m singing it practically everyday.

#3 – Toki wo Koe, Sora wo Koe (Morning Musume ’14)

tumblr_n2rgug6j5h1rmto6wo1_500Toki wo Koe, Sora wo Koe is a beautifully made ballad with a nice and calm melody that has all girls singing in harmony and unison. I’ve always loved Toki wo Koe, Sora wo Koe even before the MV came out with the translated lyrics. This song always felt like it had a deep meaning and I felt it back then even when I didn’t really understand what they were singing about when I first heard it, it was just so beautiful that I had to just keep listening to it over and over again. The vocals from the girls sound so angelic while the instrumental sounds amazingly elegant. It’s almost a masterpiece of a song. These stars shine so bright when together.

#2 – Shabadabadoo~ (Morning Musume ’14)

5154464b366db84d250bf652f794773ad37d0bcbEven though Sayumi was never the strongest singer in Hello! Project her solo song is my #2 simply because it’s an absolutely perfect song for her and her graduation, she sound really well in this song and she portrayed it so effortlessly. It’s perhaps her most cutest solo song she ever had which is just so perfect for her since she’s one of the most cutest girls out there. Shabadabadoo has a bit of retro sound to which I really like, and I think the instrumental and lyrics really flow great together. It was just a perfect song for Sayumi.

#1 – Romance wo Katatte (Berryz Koubou)

bk1When Romance wo Katatte first starts off I can’t help but to feel so much happiness when hearing it which no other Hello! Project song gives me, the only other song that gives me that feeling is Mano Erina’s “NEXT MY SELF”. I also really love how this song has a Christmas-y feel to it since Christmas is one of my most favorite holidays. All in all Romance wo Katatte just really makes me happy whenever I’m listening to it, but at the same time I can’t help but to feel a little sad since it’s Berryz Koubou’s last single. I think it’s an absolute perfect song for them for it being their last since it’s just so pure and blissful. I just really love this song a whole bunch.

——————————————

Now that my little (maybe a bit long) single ranking is finished, I would now like to talk about my thoughts about the groups this year and how I think they did throughout the year, I will be also sharing some of my hopes and predictions for the new year.

Morning Musume ’14 / Morning Musume ’15

10487456_758392117553041_2098425908198779452_nLast year I hoped that Morning Musume would continue with some really great songs along with sales and ranks. I also said that I wouldn’t mind having another audition for a new generation and I hoped that Sayumi wouldn’t graduate this year. I got at least half of my hopes accomplished. Morning Musume did end up having some really great sales and ranks for the year, each single sold more than 130k in total and 2/3 singles got #1’s on the Oricon charts while the other one got #2. In Spring it was announced that there would be a new audition and in late September the 12th generation was added. Even though I hoped that Sayumi wouldn’t graduate this year she did on November 26th at Yokohama Arena. As song wise for Morning Musume, I don’t really think they were all that great and I got really tired of hearing most of them really quickly (especially Password is 0 and What is LOVE?). Getting half of my Morning Musume hopes done during the year isn’t all that bad.

For the new year, I hope that they get some better quality songs maybe some that are more on the energetic side like Pyoko Pyoko Ultra or like The Peace. I like the EDM style they have been doing these past few years so it doesn’t bother me too much but I would like to hear something a bit different to highlight the newer members. With losing Sayumi I hope the current Morning Musume girls do good with sales and ranks. I’m hoping they at least sell over 100-110k and that their songs rank at least in the top 5 spots. I’m not saying that they will do bad in the new year, I’m just kinda thinking that since Sayumi was a big piece of the puzzle with having a bunch of fans that have graduated from the group along with her, I just hope it won’t effect the current line-up too much and that they do just as good as if they still had her.

I’m not too sure that they would do another audition so soon since 12th generation just joined but you never really know with Morning Musume so if they are to do another one in the new year I would think it might be announced somewhere in the fall. As for any graduations, it’s a bit hard to say now since the 9th and 10th generations were only added in 2011 and they haven’t been in Morning Musume for too long so I’m kinda doubting and hoping that nobody would graduate in the new year.

Berryz Koubou

tumblr_n9fhuoi6PO1tzl6b0o1_1280My hopes for Berryz Koubou for 2014 was that they release some really great singles with eye-catching outfits and that sell over 30k and rank in the top 5. My predictions were on the spot for Berryz Koubou since I think all their singles were really great this year and a lot of them were my favorites, some of them even had some really cool looking outfits. They did sell over 30k, with their last single selling a little over 80k while the other two were the 30-40k range and their ranks were two #4’s and one #2.

The only thing I didn’t hope for or even think about was their announcement of their indefinite hiatus. I’m a little heartbroken that this was the last year for Berryz Koubou to ever release a single and the last year to be talking about my hopes for them. Berryz Koubou has always been there, never changing, ever since I became a fan of Hello! Project so I think it’s going to be really weird without seeing them around after March. But I do hope that they go out with a big bang. Berryz Koubou is a bit underrated and unappreciated so I just hope a lot of success for them in their last few months with us. I want to see them happy and smiling in the very end even though we’ll all be very heartbroken.

C-ute

img_cute-sprits_01For 2014 I hoped that C-ute would be just successful as last year and that they sell over 50k and rank at least #4 on the charts. Same with Berryz Koubou my hopes for C-ute were spot on as well. All their singles this year sold over 55k and their ranks were between #4-#2. They had a quite successful year this year as well, they had a couple concerts at Nippon Budokan and next year they will be having their first concert at Yokohama Arena.

For the new year I just hope C-ute continues on this path of success and I think my hopes will be the same as last year. Though I’m gonna up their sales a bit and hope they sell at least 54k with each new single and with a ranking with #4 and above. C-ute keeps getting more popular as the years go by so I just hope they continue to release some really great songs that capture more and fans.

S/mileage / ANGERME

smileage-3rd-genLast year I hoped that S/mileage would get better singles this year since I wasn’t too keen on their previous ones, and I just hoped for sales over 21k and rankings at least near #5. Even though S/mileage didn’t release a lot of singles this year I still think they did a bit better than last year. Sales for both singles were above 28k with one ranking #2 and the other ranking #5 on the Oricon charts.

Last year was the only year where I didn’t wish for new members and what did we get this year? Newer members of course, along with a name change. At first I was all pumped for the newer members and not excited at all with the name change but now that they are called ANGERME, it will probably take some time to get use to the new name but nevertheless I will love and support ANGERME as much as I did with S/mileage. A name change isn’t going to make me love them any less.

For ANGERME I hope that they get some great songs that match the feeling of the name since they are tearful angels now. I’m not saying that I’m hoping for depressing songs but I would like to hear songs that are like Aa Susukino from them since I think that would match them pretty well. I also hope the public and the fans don’t give them too much problems about the name change and newer members, and I hope it just helps them to gain more popularity and fans. Since this is pretty much like a new group now, I would like to hope for sales that are 25k and over with ranks in the top 5.

Juice=Juice

Juice=Juice, Kanazawa Tomoko, Magazine, Miyamoto Karin, Miyazaki Yuka, Takagi Sayuki, Uemura Akari-455244Like with most other groups I just hoped that Juice=Juice would get some really great singles in the new year with sales over 30k and ranks near #5. Juice=Juice has also exceed my expectations and the totals of all three singles were 31k and above with the highest being 43k, while two of their ranks were #4 while the other one was #3.

I really think that most of their songs if not all were really great this year even though there was some I wasn’t a big fan of in the end, but I really loved how Juice=Juice had different sounds and feelings from all over the world with each song that was released this year. It was really fresh and exciting to hear and see, so I kinda hope that they continue using sounds from all over the world with their newest releases. I also continue to hope they sell over 31k with ranks of #4 and over. I also kinda hope that they release some type of album in the new year.

Mitsui Aika

 o03540472128494709271
Aika’s work in Hello! Project definitely died down a bit since she’s on a bit of a hiatus to study overseas somewhere in the U.S.A. so my hopes for her to continue to do little odd jobs here and there at concerts didn’t happen but in the blog pictures she posted over the year she looks happy and like she’s having a lot of fun abroad. I couldn’t wish for anything else but happiness for these girls so I’m glad Aika is doing fine with her studying. If she’s done this year and comes back to her little odd jobs in Hello! Project I hope she performs here and there rather than just MC’ing all the time with Makoto.

Country Girls

11bkhe0Country Girls was a bit of a confusing thing in Hello! Project for a while since they announced auditions for the group earlier in the year then in the summer nobody passes and the idea was pretty much scraped until it reappeared out of nowhere again but this time with members. Of course I’m happy to hear that there will be a new group in Hello! Project despite losing one in a few months. I’m pretty glad Manaka gets to debut since I hoped she would last year. Risa is a nice add as well from the Kenshuusei’s and I’m liking her a lot more these days. It’s a bit surprising to hear that Momoko will be joining them for a few years to help guide them as an idol group and to be playing manager but I’m glad were not losing a key member of Hello! Project just yet. I also find it a bit odd and surprising to see that the other members are from the 12th generation audition and were finalists rather than having girls from the original Country Musume audition.

Even with all that though, I’m pretty excited for this group and these girls anyway. I’m really curious and hopeful to see if they sing any older Country Musume singles at the concerts that they’ll be attending at the end of this year and the beginning of next. I hope they get some pretty cool and fun new singles to add to the Country Musume history. I guess I would hope for sales near the 25k mark with ranks at least in the top 10. I’m not too sure on what to hope for with this group since they are pretty much brand-new but I do hope that they do well for their first year.

Hello! Pro Kenshuusei

tumblr_ndfthsYFvc1qzows9o1_1280
As for the Hello Pro Kenshuusei’s I was just really happy that they were being promoted better at concerts and that they got their own original songs. I hoped for a new unit like Juice=Juice to be formed which sadly didn’t happen but we did get Country Girls. I also hoped for the debuts of Ayano, Kaede, Nanami, Mizuki, Manaka, and Karen. Surprisingly 2/6 girls I hoped for are actually going to debut in the new year so I’m pretty happy about that.

I really like the Kenshuusei’s so I’m happy for them to get their own album which you can buy on CDJapan in February. I would be pretty happy and I’m still hoping to see another Kenshuusei unit formed like Juice=Juice was back in 2013 in the new year. For the girls I hope to debut in the new year, they are Hamaura Ayano (forever wishing for Ayano’s debut), Taguchi Natsumi, Ogawa Rena, Yamagishi Riko, Kaga Kaede, Inoue Hikaru, Niinuma Kisora, Danbara Ruru, Funaki Musubu, and Saitou Kana. But I would be happy with any Kenshuusei’s debut.

————-

With that this post is now near its end. I’m very proud of Hello! Project this year since all the groups ended up selling and ranking really well this year, in general I hope that they gain more popularity since these group of girls are really great and I think everybody should give them a chance. I would love to have another group come to North America for a concert since I would hop on a plane without blinking an eye. One last thing I hope for in the new year is that Tsunku’s cancer gets better and that he has a speedy recovery. I think we would all be lost without him around.

That’s it folks, I hope you enjoyed reading on what I think about the singles and groups of Hello! Project this year. Please free feel to tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

