Berryz Koubou’s Last Single “Romance wo Katatte / Towa no Uta” (MV’s)

bk1The day has come for me to review and express some of my thoughts about Berryz Koubou’s last single. It’s a bit sad to say that this is Berryz Koubou’s last single since they always seemed like a group that would always continue together, but they want to do other things with their lives which is understandable since they were idols since they were young and has been for a little more than 10 years. So since both MV’s were uploaded on their official YouTube channel, I’m going to be sharing some of my thoughts about Berryz Koubou’s last single “Romance wo Katatte / Towa no Uta”

Romance wo Katatte

The Song: I guess from when I first heard the radio rip for this song I fell in love with it. I already can’t wait for Christmas and the very beginning of this song sounds very much like a Christmas song, which just got me even more excited that Berryz Koubou did a bit of Christmas song near Christmas time before their hiatus next spring. I just really love this song as a whole, I don’t find anything to be wrong with it. From the extremely “fu fu white romance” to the “Oh wo oh wowo’s” I really can’t help but sing this song randomly throughout my day. It’s instantly one of my favorites. It’s of course mostly sung by Miyabi and Risako with little lines of the other members here and there. I don’t really mind it since I really love Risako’s vocals, but I’m really glad to hear Captain’s cute vocals with her little lines. I really adore this song~

romance2The MV: The MV for Romance wo Katatte is just as cute as the song. From it’s vintage look with it looking like it’s from a 1960’s TV screen, to the TV cameras in some of the shots. This MV is a bit simple but it has a very nice look and feel to it. It also has some really cool kaleidoscope shots and effects. I also really love the close-up’s with the glittery stars hanging around. All around I think this MV is a pretty cute one but for me it’s also a bit sad to watch since it’s just beautiful and is one Berryz Koubou’s last MV’s.

romance1The Dance/Outfits: I’ll start with the outfits first, I really love the white sparkly dresses and black boots. I think the dresses are really cute and beautiful, I would love to wear a type of dress like that. The capes are also a really cute touch to the look. My one complaint about this look is that I don’t really like Miyabi’s hairstyle. Besides that though, I think everything else looks really great. As for the dance, it looks to be a simple dance with it not looking to complex. I can’t help but to really love when Miyabi and Risako look at each other while dancing from one side of the room to the other, I think those moments are extremely cute.

Overall: Overall I think Romance wo Katette is my most favorite out of the two. I really love the song, MV, and outfits. It’s definitely one of my favorite songs from this year. Right now I would give this song a 9.7 / 10. I think it’s a really great song and I really love listening to the song and watching the MV.

Towa no Uta

The Song: Towa no Uta is a bit more rockish compared to Romance wo Katette, but if you ask me Towa no Uta definitely sounds more like a typical Berryz Koubou song. It fits their image and their sound really well. It’s song more about their adventures while being in Berryz Koubou, kinda like Futsuu Idol 10nen Yatterunnai Deshou, but Towa no Uta is more about looking forward to their future with a bit of pride from their past. I’m sure eventually I’ll learn the lyrics to this song I can definitely see Towa no Uta a song I jam out to.

romance3The MV: The set for this MV is also a bit simple and I think it’s more simpler and a bit plain compared to Romance wo Katatte, but the flashbacks of the younger Berryz Koubou singing on stage made me want to cry. I guess they’re trying to make this MV kinda look like their debut single’s MV. I mean they’re not scootering around and it’s not at a huge venue but this MV could kinda look like that they’re just on the stage with the lights behind them. Which is kinda cool if you ask me, but I still kinda find this MV to be still slacking something.

romance4The Dance/Outfits: I really love how they’re wearing plaid to kinda represent their debut single. All their outfits are a bit different from each other but I think I like Maasa’s outfit and look the best out of the seven members. I’m glad that they all have good hairstyles in this MV. As for the dance I think it’s pretty alright. Like Romance wo Katette it doesn’t look so complex to try dancing to yourself.

Overall: Overall I think I like Towa no Uta quite a bit, but to me it kinda feels like somethings missing or slacking in this song. I don’t really know it could be though. As of right now I think I would give this song 8.6 / 10.

bk2I think both songs are pretty good to be called Berryz Koubou’s last single. I’m really sad that this is Berryz Koubou’s last single but I’m hoping that these songs do well on the Oricon chart and that it sells really well. I’ve already pre-ordered my copies of this song as soon as it was announced and hopefully they get shipped out on Sunday. I’m excited to see how this single does~

It’s release date is November 12th.
If you want to support Berryz Koubou’s last single “Romance wo Katette / Towa no Uta” be sure to order your copies to help support them as it’s their last single.

Leave a Reply

