[EDIT] S/mileage Will Add 3rd Generation from Hello! Pro Kenshuusei & Will Change Group Name.

Fukuda Kanon, Katsuta Rina, Nakanishi Kana, S mileage, Takeuchi Akari, Tamura Meimi, Wada Ayaka-479311
It has been announced in today’s episode of Hello! Station that S/mileage will be adding a 3rd generation from Hello! Pro Kenshuusei on October 4th, and that the group will be changing their name.

We were told to be attention to S/mileage yesterday since they some kind of announcement to say on today’s Hello! Station but I did not expect to get an announcement of another generation or name change. For years I’ve been wanting a 3rd genereation of S/mileage since not long after 2nd generation came along, I’ve wanted another one, and very year I would hope and wish for a new audition or something for a 3rd generation of S/mileage. But now that it’s here and been announced I’m not really sure how I feel about it. I’m happy I guess, but I’m very confused as to why they’re doing it now. They don’t really give us a reason they just gave us the news without much explanation. There could be an explanation, but I’m not really good at Japanese so when I was watching the video they could have explained it and I just didn’t understand.

I read somewhere that Wada Ayaka has said that if they added newer members she would leave/graduate, and now that there’s new members coming in I just hope she stays in S/mileage for a little longer and not leave so early if she does still plan to do that. This is scary, I don’t want my Queen to leave me yet.  (ToT)!!

As for the name change I don’t what to feel about that one either. Are they gonna be like Morning Musume that turned into Morning Musume ’14? Will S/mileage become S/mileage ’14? (lol) Or would they come up with a whole new name for them. This is also scary. I’m curious about their name change but I really love their name right now, S/mileage is a great name. For me, S/mileage means happy, cheerful, fun, energetic and super cute. I don’t what a whole new name, I just hope it’s a minor change to the original.

This is some really big news with only a little timeline and also on short notice. I don’t know what to feel. S/mileage is my favourite group, I’m all up for change, but these announcements could either be a major change or a minor change. It is some scary stuff if you ask me. I don’t think I’m even gonna bother to pick girls that I want or how many I want for this 3rd generation. I’m just gonna wait it out since it’s only in 10 days.

Farewell 6nin S/mileage!

mizuki

EDIT!
Wada Ayaka and Fukuda Kanon both felt that adding new members to S/mileage would be best since the 2nd members were feeling unsure of S/mileage’s future if Ayaka or Kanon ever graduated. Ayaka and Kanon came up with this plan themselves and presented their idea to the staff and the staff have agreed with them. Tsunku had no idea of this plan and this is what he has said on his blog:

Iya~ I’m surprised.

Those girls have grown up before I knew it.

That they’d plan something like this by themselves!

Eh!? Adding new members!

What!? A name change!

…I was surprised.

But since there’s significance in them thinking hard about this themselves,
a forward-looking action like this makes me think they’re nearing success.

I can only support them, right!

But I wonder what kind of name they’ll have…
Do something like “S/mileーーーage”. (lol)

Translation from Hello! Online.

EDIT 2:

Here’s a translation of what they might have said during the video. The translation is from UP-FRONT LINK’s facebook page.

S/mileage made their major debut for more than 4 years and a half.

 

We began as 4 members but on 2011 Ogawa and Maeda successively graduated and the group had to surpass a crisis.

During this crisis 2nd generation members have been added and 6 members composed the group since then. We, as 6 members, had to overcome many things and this year, we have been able to successfully perform at the Budokan, a dream for us.

For S/mileage, it was something really big and we have been able to get more self-confidence by ourselves.

 

We feel really gratitude towards the 4 members of the 2nd generation.

With the successful Budokan’s live, we have reached the point of thinking that S/mileage can do things bigger and bigger.

Then during some habitual discussion with the 2nd generation, we sometimes felt anxiety from them about what will happen to the group if we, the original members, would graduate from S/mileage.

We discussed with our staff, and we will add members from Hello! Pro Kenshuusei. We think that adding new members would be a good stimulus for everyone.

With this new group’ start, our name will change as well. We are currently taking applications for this new name.

It was “the first chapter” of S/mileage until now. We think that with the new group’s name, we, as 6 members plus the new members will start “the second chapter”.

To be able to do what we couldn’t do until now, we would like to challenge new things in order to reach this potentiality.

Please continue to support us from now as well.

 

S/mileage Ayaka Wada, Kanon Fukuda

Leave a Reply

