Flashback Friday #4: Mano Erina’s 7th Single “Onegai Dakara…” (MV)

OnegaiDakaraRegular
Well guys, I’m sorry that this weeks segment is on another Saturday. With the whole ticket deal for Morning Musume ’14 in New York caused me to kinda forget about my little blog and my flashback Friday’s (it also caused me to be really anxious all day, but I won’t really go there). I guess it’s better late than never, so I’m just gonna get at this week’s segment. This week I’m talking about Mano Erina’s 7th single titled “Onegai Dakara…” which was released on May 12th 2010.

The Song: I think Onegaki Dakara was the song that helped me to get more into Mano Erina during my early days as a fan since I seemed to be not a huge of Mano at the time. Haru no Arashi was good and Onegaki Dakara was close to being pretty good too so with two great songs that she released it helped me to pay more attention to her.

I really like this type and style of songs so I was surprised to see Mano getting good songs like these ones. Onegai Dakara is pretty mature and cool song for Mano Erina, and was completely different from her previous singles. In this song you don’t even hear her signature piano. Mano Erina was getting older I think they realized that she can’t be singing cute (and a little bland) songs with her piano all the time, and with this song they’ll be putting her in a new direction. This song was great for Mano, I really liked Onegaki Dakara when it first came it and I still really like it still.

mano3

The MV: The MV for this song also has a mature and cool aspect going for it. It was Mano looking cool in her gorgeous close-ups and her posing with her piano rather than playing it. They set of the MV is just a gray background with a huge light above them with some cute little eggs dancing in the background. It’s almost a really good MV. Until they start showing Mano being goofy during a making of, in different costumes and playing with the staff.

I get it, it’s cute. I just don’t think it goes with the theme of the song. These MV would have been perfect with just the usual dance shots and close-ups. It’s just really out of place and I personally don’t like it.

mano4

The Dance: The dance is cute, I like it. Usually Mano would get fun dances for her other songs but for this single she got a cool dance that I actually enjoyed watching. I think the background dancers are Sato Ayano, Komine Momoka, Saho Akari, and Fukumura Mizuki. Now looking at who the dancers are, I’m a bit surprised that one of them is Mizuki. That’s pretty cool! She looks so young and cute~! I guess you learn something new everyday.

Overall: Overall the song itself is amazingly great while the MV was close to being. After this song was released I really liked the way Mano Erina’s next singles were going and it made me a bigger fan of this girl. I would give Onegai Dakara a 8.1 /10. It’s a pretty great song if you ask me.

OnegaiDakaraB

Leave a Reply

