Berryz Koubou’s 34th Single “Otona na no ya! / 1 Oku 3 Senman Sou Diet Oukoku” (MV’s)

Otona1okuREA
Since both MV’s are now out for Berryz Koubou’s 34th Single “Otona na no ya! / 1 Oku 3 Senman Sou Diet Oukoku”, I’m just going to take some time to just share some of my thoughts about what I think about this single so far.

Otona na no yo!

The song: First off, let’s talk about the song. The song itself is a pretty mature song for Berryz, and out off all the recent mature sounding singles Berryz Koubou has been putting out lately, this one is probably my most favorite. Golden Chinatown / Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi was really good and I’ve come really love it but the following single Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta / ROCK Erotic wasn’t as great and was a bit disappointing for me. So I’m quite glad that Berryz gets a good mature sounding song such as this one.

To me this song gives a bit of a Spice Girls vibe. Even though I was only a little young one when Spice Girls were really popular but I do find this song does have that strong girl power sound and feel to it. Well, that was my first thought when I first heard this song but now that I’ve listen to this song so much that I’m kinda forgetting my initial thoughts, so there they are before I totally forget.

Also, I really love when Hello! Project has a type of song where it’s pretty much saying “It’s my life, I do what I want.” For some reason those are always my favorite types of songs.

otona1

The dance: The dance is pretty good I guess. The beginning with the arms stretched everywhere isn’t really my cup of tea, but the rest of dance is pretty good. I definitely love the leg movements, I don’t know how to explain how they do it, it’s something I think I couldn’t do, so because of that I give them mad props for that really cool dance move (lol). We also get an awesome Captain dance break in this song, which is pretty darn great. And it’s about time we get one (lol), I don’t think we ever had Captain solo dance within a single (besides Asian Celebration where she only gets the solo dance during lives) so it’s really great the see her really great dancing skills.

otona2

The MV: I like the MV quite a bit. The set is pretty cool, stylish and dim, and there’s some really great shots of everybody with the make-up, perfume, and mannequins.

Risako looks stunning. Chinami is beaming with confidence. Saki, Miyaki, Yurina look extremely stylish and cool. And uh, I guess Maasa and Momoko looked pretty cool too. Maasa seems really serious in this MV, I think I only seen her somewhat smile only once. C’mon Maasa, you’re being too serious, you gotta smile more, you’re an adult! (Do see my pun? lol) With Momoko, she just looks like Momoko, which is just cute.

Now, that I’ve said everything that I do like about this MV, there’s one thing that I don’t like. The thing is that I don’t like how shaky the camera is. If you take the time to notice, the dance shot is very shaky, and it does end up hurting my eyes a bit if I watch this MV too much or when I put too much focus on the set. But everything else besides that is perfectly fine and I really like this MV.

For Otona na no yo, I would probably give it a 8.9 / 10.

1 Oku 3 Senman Sou Diet Oukoku

The song: The song gives me a bit of 80’s Madonna vibe from it, especially the instrumental. To be honest, it’s a bit of a mess of a song, but for some strange reason I really like and adore this song. There isn’t much for me to really go on about this song, besides that it’s a bit futuristic but yet has a blast from the past sound to it. Oh, last thing before I go on to the dance is that I absolutely love Risako’s powerful “Ichi oku san senman” lines. They sound great in this song, and it’s just as great live too.

otona4

The dance: When I watched the live version of this single during one of Hello Station recent episodes, I didn’t really think it was that great or that impressive of a dance, but watching it during the MV is totally different and it doesn’t look like they’re all over the place (lol). The dance moves fit pretty well with the lyrics, and after taking a better look at the dance I must that I do like quite a bit, it’s not as bad as I first thought it was.

otona3

The MV: The set for this MV is a bit simple, being mostly dance shots and close-ups. I must say that it still looks pretty cool though. Everybody looks absolutely stunning and so pretty. Risako has some odd eyebrows but she still looks a beauty.

For 1 Oku 3 Senman Sou Diet Oukoku, I would also give it a 8.9 / 10.

Otona1okuREB

I really love both songs quite equally, and if you ask me, I think it’s the best single of 2014 so far. I know it’s been Morning Musume and Berryz Koubou so far, but both of these songs way better individually than all of Morning Musume’s newest singles put together. This single has made me love Berryz Koubou a lot more now than before, and I’m glad I already pre-ordered 4 copies (singles that come out with trading cards are going to be the end for me and my bank account, lol).

It’s release date is February 19th.
If you love this single as much as me (lol), be sure to order your copies to help support Berryz Koubou with their newest single.

Leave a Reply

