Berryz Koubou 32nd single “Golden Chinatown / Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi” (MV’s)

ChinatownRegThe MV’s for Berryz Koubou’s 32nd single “Golden Chinatown / Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi” has also recently been uploaded on their official youtube channel, and since I did a bit of a review of S/mileage’s newest MV’s yesterday, I’ve decided that I’ll do one for Berryz Koubou today.

Golden Chinatown

Golden Chinatown was definitely a song I had to listen to a few more times to actually like it, though it’s a now a song that I really like and enjoy. I’m quite impressed with the lyrics of the song, especially the little puns (“Ii china baby”) and the little English words such as eccentric, fantastic, mystery magic, etc. Those were some of the things that impressed me quite a bit.

I also really like the outfits and MV too. I think they both have a nice Chinatown feel to it (of course it does), I really love how Berryz Koubou can incorporate different Asian styles such as this one (based from China), Cha cha SING (theme and song cover from Thailand), and Asian Celebration (from Asia). I think they work the styles quite well and it really works out the best for them.

I find that the neon lights in the background of the dance shots and close-ups are very well placed since the song does mention bright neon nights. I really like how the whole song, MV and even the outfits are quite well put together to match the theme.

Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi

Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi was a song that I really loved and adored from the first time I listened to it, and for me it’s probably the best Hello! Project song so far. The song has a nice beat to it, I can really relate to the lyrics, the MV and dance is done really well, and all of the girls sound (and look) absolutely great. The dresses aren’t really that great looking, but everything else makes up for it and makes me really love this song.

I absolutely love love love Risako’s lines “Kirawaretakunakute Waratte ita”, I really love Momoko’s lines “Kyou kara ga hontou no watashi” and I also really like Yurina’s lines too. Those girls sing what I find is the best sounding lines in the whole entire song, they make them sound so great. This whole song is absolutely wonderful, but those three girls sing the main highlights of it. This song is truly the best (^u^)/~!

berryz_golden_chinatown_cds_ltd_dI find Yurina stands out the most in both these songs and it’s not just because of her height either. Her voice sounds really great and she looks absolutely stunning in both MV’s, I couldn’t take my eyes off her while watching the MV’s. It almost took 4 years but I think I really like Yurina now (it’s crazy, I know).

Golden Chinatown and Sayonara Usotsuki no Watashi are both really great songs with really good MV’s, I think it’s a really great recovery for Berryz Koubou from Asian Celebration (it was an alright single but wasn’t really the best Berryz Koubou song). This single is absolutely wonderful and I love every little bit of it, I’m definitely hoping I can order my copies during it’s first week (since I didn’t order them yet).

It’s release date is June 19th.
If you love this single as much as I do, be sure to order your copies to help support your idols with their newest single (^u^)!!

Leave a Reply

