My 3rd Hello! Project Anniversary~!

I became a fan of Hello! Project three years ago in the Summer of 2009. I don’t really remember the actual date but I decided that July 2nd will be the anniversary date! Today I want to recall and reminiscence about back then to now.

Back in 2009, I was really in a huge Naruto/Anime phase. I would always be on youtube watching amv’s and slideshows of Naruto characters or pairings. My recommendation box would be usual full of anime related videos until one day in the summer where one video kept popping up which wasn’t my usual Naruto/anime videos.

It was Mini Moni’s 1st single “Jankenpyon”. It kept popping up in my recommendation box and bothered me! (LOL!). I would usual ignore it but one day I became so fed up with it popping up all the time I just decided to watch it, just to get it out of my recommendation box. It was the most random and odd video I ever seen, but yet I kept watching it over and over again.

I then became a fan of Mini Moni, I would listen and watch all their videos and songs. I liked Mini Moni for about a month before I started to like the current Hello! Pro. It started with Mini Moni, then W, then Berryz Koubou and S/mileage, then C-ute, then Morning Musume and lastly Mano Erina. When I started to like the current H!P, it must have been around August because Morning Musume’s “Nanchatte Renai” and Buono!’s “Take It Easy!” were the recent singles when I finally got around to the current H!P.

Now, I want to compare the groups by 2009 to now and recall things that I remember:

Morning Musume

When I became a fan of Morning Musume, the group was just started their change with Koharu’s graduation after two years without anyone leaving or coming in. I was confused by the whole graduation concept and never fully understood it until it was almost time for Koharu to graduate (LOL!). And back then, I only really knew Ai-chan because she was in Mini Moni for awhile, I had no idea who the other members were and it took me awhile to tell them apart (It’s extremely easy now). Ever since then though, Morning Musume is always changing and growing. Back then, they were a couple of mature young ladies and now, it seems like the newer and younger members are going to take over soon with only Sayumi and Reina left from the 2009 era.

Favourite member then: Takahashi Ai
Favourite member now: Tanaka Reina

Berryz Koubou

Berryz Koubou was the one the groups that I liked straight away when I got into the current H!P. I really loved their single “Seishun Bus Guide/Rival”. To be honest though, for awhile, I seriously thought Risako was the leader because she sang the most lines and back then I always thought the leader sang the most.. but I guess not eh? (LOL!). And I always got Saki, Chinami, Maasa and Yurina mixed up (LOL!). Berryz Koubou never really changed during the years, they just became older and more beautiful.

Favourite member then: Natsuyaki Miyabi
Favourite member now: Natsuyaki Miyabi

C-ute

Back then and even now, C-ute was always an ‘alright’ group. I always like their singles but I never really had a C-ute phase where I would love everything about them and all the members. I do really love the members but I never obsessed over them. They’re all very talented members and their singles are always the best, but to me they’re still an ‘alright’ group.

Favourite member then: Nakajima Saki
Favourite member now: Nakajima Saki

Mano Erina

Mano Erina was a funny story back then. Back in 2009, I did not like her at all and it was because I thought she was group (LOL!). Back then, I was not use to the Japanese names so I just thought she was a group and I didn’t like her because when I was trying watch her “Sekai wa Summer Party” mv, I thought that it was unfair for her to get all the lines and none of the other members (S/mileage, when they were her back up dancers) got any at all (LOL!). But now, I just laugh at that story. I really like Erina now~! Through the years, she really matured and became a beauty.

S/mileage

S/mileage was the group that debuted not long before I started to get into current H!P so it feels like that I was there from the beginning, which makes me kinda love S/mileage more than the other groups at times. I really loved their first indie single “aMa no Jaku” and S/mileage was the other group, with Berryz Koubou, who I loved straight away. When they finally debuted with their first official single “Yume Miru Fifteen”, I fell in love with them even more~! S/mileage always has the best and most catchiest songs in H!P, you just can’t help to sing along with their silly and fun songs.

Favourite member then: Ogawa Saki
Favourite member now: Wada Ayaka (my oshimen).

I also want to take the time to show how much H!P merchandise I’ve collection over the three years. I bought my first H!P CD in 2010 (blogged about it). Since then I never really bought anything until September 2011 (also blogged about it), which got me started on my little addiction of buying H!P CD’s (LOL!). So far, I only have mostly S/mileage singles, I have a few Morning Musume singles and other singles.

Morning Musume

  • Koko ni Iruzee! (Regular)
  • Onna ga Medatte Naze Ikenai (Regular)
  • Only you (Regular)
  • Kono Chikyuu no Heiwa wo Honki de Negatterun da yo! (Limited A, Limited C, and Takahashi Ai graduation edition)
  • Busu ni Naranai Tetsugaku (Morning Musume edition)

S/mileage (part 1)

  • Yume Miru Fifteen (Regular)
  • Ganbaranakutemo Eenede!! (Regular)
  • Onaji Jikyuu de Hataraku Tomodachi no Bijin Mama (Regular)
  • Shortcut (Regular)
  • Koi ni Booing! Buu! (Regular)
  • Unchouten LOVE (Regular)
  • Tachiagaaru (Regular, Limited A, Limited D, and Limited E)

S/mileage (part 2)

  • Please mini-skirt Postwomen (Regular, Limited A, Limited B, Limited C, and Limited D)
  • Choto Mate Kudasai (Regular, Limited B, and Limited D)
  • Dot Bikini (Regular, Limited C, and Limited D)
  • Busu ni Naranai Tetsugaku (S/mileage edition)

Others

  • Makeruna Wasshoi! (Regular)
  • Busu ni Naranai Tetsugaku (Regular)

These have been a wonderful three years and Hello! Project taught me a lot through the years and I look forward towards many, many, many more years with the girls of Hello! Pro. Even though, I have never had met any of the girls nor have I seen them in real life, but they feel like my sisters. I love and respect them all as idols and real people.

Thank you girls for helping me with difficult stages of my life and Thank you Tsunku-san for making something most amazing. Thank you Hello! Project~! I will truly always love H!P, and I’ll try my best to support you all someday. I never have been a picky fan, I love anything that H!P does. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen through the many, many years. Once again Thank you~!

Leave a Reply

